MSBIAS source details

Schuchert, P. (2007). The European athecate hydroids and their medusae (Hydrozoa, Cnidaria): Filifera part 2. Revue suisse de Zoologie. 114: 195-396.
Schuchert, P.
The European athecate hydroids and their medusae (Hydrozoa, Cnidaria): Filifera part 2
Revue suisse de Zoologie
114: 195-396
This study reviews all European species belonging to the filiferan families Bougainvilliidae, Cytaeididae, Rathkeidae, and Pandeidae. Updated diagnoses for the families and genera are provided and taxonomic problems solved or at least outlined. Lizzia blondina is removed from the Bougainvilliidae and transferred to the Rathkeidae based on results from 16S sequence data. Dysmorphosa minuta Mayer, 1900 is regarded as a synonym of Lizzia blondina; morphological and molecular evidence is provided. Cytaeis minima Trinci, 1903, formerly included in the Hydractiniidae, is transferred to a new genus Podocorynoides and included in the Rathkeidae as Podocorynoides minima (Trinci, 1903). Perigonimus nanellus Stechow, 1919 belongs to the genus Dicoryne and is likely a synonym of Dicoryne conybearei (Allman, 1864). Perigonimus nudus Stechow, 1919 is recognized as a new synonym of Eirene viridula (Péron & Lesueur, 1810). The Mediterranean records of Rhizorhagium michaeli and R. arenosum are most likely based on misidentifications of Pachycordyle pusilla (Motz-Kossowska, 1905). Annatiara lempersi Bleeker & van der Spoel, 1988 is a synonym of Annatiara affinis (Hartlaub, 1914).
Eastern Atlantic
Systematics, Taxonomy
RIS (EndNote, Reference Manager, ProCite, RefWorks)
BibTex (BibDesk, LaTeX)
2013-01-12 18:30:12Z
2014-01-30 07:01:42Z

Amphinema Haeckel, 1879 (redescription)
Amphinema dinema (Péron & Lesueur, 1810) (redescription)
Amphinema rugosum (Mayer, 1900) (redescription)
Annatiara affinis (Hartlaub, 1914) (redescription)
Bimeria Wright, 1859 (redescription)
Bimeria vestita Wright, 1859 (redescription)
Bougainvillia britannica (Forbes, 1841) (redescription)
Bougainvillia macloviana Lesson, 1830 (redescription)
Bougainvillia muscoides (Sars, 1846) (redescription)
Bougainvillia muscus (Allman, 1863) (redescription)
Bougainvillia principis (Steenstrup, 1850) (redescription)
Bougainvillia pyramidata (Forbes & Goodsir, 1853) (redescription)
Bougainvillia ramosa (Van Beneden, 1844) accepted as Bougainvillia muscus (Allman, 1863) (status source)
Bougainvillia superciliaris (L. Agassiz, 1849) (redescription)
Bougainvilliidae Lütken, 1850 (additional source)
Dicoryne Allman, 1859 (redescription)
Dicoryne conferta (Alder, 1856) (redescription)
Dicoryne conybearei (Allman, 1864) (redescription)
Garveia Wright, 1859 (redescription)
Garveia franciscana (Torrey, 1902) accepted as Calyptospadix cerulea Clarke, 1882 (redescription)
Garveia nutans Wright, 1859 (redescription)
Leuckartiara nobilis Hartlaub, 1914 (redescription)
Leuckartiara octona (Fleming, 1823) (redescription)
Lizzia Forbes, 1846 (redescription)
Lizzia blondina Forbes, 1848 (redescription)
Neoturris Hartlaub, 1914 (redescription)
Neoturris breviconis (Murbach & Shearer, 1902) (redescription)
Neoturris pileata (Forsskål, 1775) (redescription)
Pachycordyle Weismann, 1883 (additional source)
Pachycordyle michaeli (Berrill, 1948) (redescription)
Pachycordyle navis (Millard, 1959) accepted as Pachycordyle michaeli (Berrill, 1948) (additional source)
Pandea conica (Quoy & Gaimard, 1827) (redescription)
Pandea rubra Bigelow, 1913 (redescription)
Podocorynoides Schuchert, 2007 (original description)
Podocorynoides minima (Trinci, 1903) (new combination reference)
Rathkea octopunctata (M. Sars, 1835) (redescription)
Rathkeidae Russell, 1953 (redescription)
Rhizorhagium arenosum (Alder, 1862) (redescription)
Rhizorhagium roseum M. Sars, 1874 (redescription)